Exhibition Past

Click here to access the Online Viewing Room

Last autumn, Colnaghi presented an exhibition of beautiful paintings by Spanish Modernists who worked in Paris during the late nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Barcelona – Paris, 1860-1936: A Journey to Modernity was open from 6th October – 18th November at Colnaghi London, with highlights on view at Colnaghi Brussels from 22nd - 25th September. This exhibition reflected the continued interest in this period, and built upon two previous showcases of work by Spanish Modernists at the gallery in 2020 and 2021. We were pleased to collaborate once again with two of Barcelona’s most historic galleries, Sala Parés (est. 1877) and Artur Ramon Art (est. 1911), combining more than five hundred years of collective expertise between us.

Most of the featured artists trained at the art academies of Barcelona, but, as with Picasso, were drawn to Paris, which was at that time the epicentre of the art world. The variety of styles and techniques presented here attested to their absorption of artistic ideas while in the city and the reciprocal influence of their peers and contemporaries.

Jorge Coll, CEO of Colnaghi, said: “In staging this third exhibition in collaboration with Sala Parés and Artur Ramon, we are seeking to reconstruct the local Spanish art scene at the turn of the 20th century in Paris. Many of these artists are relatively unknown to the rest of the world, and we hope that this exhibition will help bring them to wider public recognition and restore the prestige of arguably one of the best schools of painting in Europe.”

Featured artists: Mariano Andreu (1888-1976), Francisco Bores (1898-1972), Ricard Canals (1876-1931), Hermen Anglada-Camarasa (1871-1959), Antoni Clavé (1913-2005), Ramon Casas (1866-1932), Pere Pruna (1904-1977), Ricard Opisso (1880-1966), Josep de Togores (1893-1970), Josep Clarà (1878-1958), Enric Clarasó (1857-1951), Joaquim Sunyer (1874-1956), Emilio Sala y Francés (1850–1910), Carlos Vázquez Úbeda (1869–1944), Olga Sacharoff (1889–1967), Isidre Nonell (1872–1911), Pau Roig Cisa (1879–1955), Julio González (1876–1942), Manuel Humbert (1890–1975), Pere Ysern Alié (1875–1946), Josep Maria Marquès Puig (1891–1950), Joan Cardona (1877–1957), Manuel Feliu de Lemus (1865–1922), Pablo Gargallo (1881–1934), Santiago Rusiñol (1861–1931), Manolo Hugué (1872–1945), Ramon Pichot (1871–1925), Francesc Miralles (1848–1901).